Sequel to the directive of the Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola that the Nigeria Immigration Service should deploy 50% of its workforce to secure the Border Post,the Comptroller General of Immigration, Muhammad Babandede has approved the establishment of four new Special Border Commands namely: Idi-Iroko in Ogun State, Mfum in Cross River State, Jibiya in Katsina State and Illela in Sokoto State.
Following this upgrade, Senior Officers of the rank of Comptroller have been deployed to head the special Commands while reporting to Assistant Comptrollers-General of Immigration in-charge of their respective Zones.
A statement by the Public Relations Officer, Nigeria Immigration Service, Sunday James, indicates that the four newly established special Commands will be in addition to the existing Seme Command to enable the Service operate seamlessly in the control and monitoring of movement of persons in and out of the country for effective and efficient Border Management and enhanced national Security.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *